Uncategorized

Rosebud Reservation

I got a tour of Rosebud today. I let my friend take me through some of the towns and show me some of the worst, and best parts of the reservation.

As we drove through impoverished areas and she talked of all the challenges for everyone on the reservation, I found myself unable to breathe in a normal and relaxed manner. I had to work at allowing enough air into my lungs and back out again. A heavy weight was descending upon me.

I knew it wasn’t mine, but it was my sensitivity feeling the pain and pressure in the environment around me.

“How do you do it? How do you manage to live here and not become down and stressed?”

My friend looked at me and smiled. “I have seen this happen to others, too. They come and they feel it. You can feel it, can’t you?”

“Yes, oh, yes. This is really challenging energy. I don’t know if I can live here, and stay in a good place to where I can help.”

“We have to take you out to the ranch,” she shared with me the secret to her ability to tolerate the challenges here. A 3,000 acre working ranch, where she spends her time on the weekends.

Later that day we went out to the ranch and she took me out on a four wheeler, way up to the top of a place called ‘Buffalo Butte.’ She left me alone to meditate. The views were amazing and the silence was real.

After a few minutes of sitting on a rock, looking at the expanse of land and sky, I noticed my breathing was back to normal. The heaviness was gone and my mind was clear once again.

I smiled at her that evening as we relaxed and talked. Now I could see how she could do it, how she could go in there and do the amazing work she is doing, and keep herself from drowning in the sorrow and pain.

The question on my mind is – can I do it, too?

Leave a comment